Executive Leadership Board

The Executive Leadership Board was established in 2001 as an advisory board to guide the UNC Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute in its mission to conduct research that makes a difference in children’s lives, supports families, and informs public policy. Board members provide strategic advice to the Institute’s director and leadership team, work to enhance communication with key external partners and constituencies, and support the Institute’s efforts to build an enduring financial base.

The Board is comprised of influential leaders who are knowledgeable about the most important challenges facing young children, their families, and the institutions that serve children and families. Board members represent key constituencies, including business, governmental, philanthropic, public, and professional sectors.

Current Board Members

Grace Baranek (2019-2022) Maria Elizabeth "Liz" Jaramillo (2020-2022)
Emma S. Battle (2020-2023) Marvin H. McKinney (2001-2021)
Brian A. Boyd (2019-2022) Duncan E. Munn (2008-2021)
Renée Boynton-Jarrett (2020-2023) James M. Perrin (2008-2022)
Elizabeth Pungello Bruno (2014-2022), Chair Cheryl Polk (2020-2023)
Bruce A. Cairns (2019-2022) Karen Ponder (2008-2020), Emeritus
Kenneth A. Dodge (2014-2022) Mark F. Testa (2020-2023)
Mary Frances “Muffy” Grant (2019-2022) Rob Thompson (2020-2023)
Karen C. Hall (2020-2022) Jonathan Todres (2020-2023)
Ronald T. Haskins (2006-2020), Emeritus Elizabeth Star Winer (2020-2023)
Olson Huff (2008-2021) Tracy Zimmerman (2020-2023)

Former Board Members

Maya K. Ajmera (2001-2007)
W. Steven Barnett (2008-2019)
Tamara P. Barringer (2014-2018)
Barbara T. Bowman (2009-2020)
Peggy C. Carter (2002-2020)
John R. Edwards (2001-2006)
Eugene E. Garcia (2014-2018)
Ronald T. Haskins (2006-2020)
Stewart J. Hudson (2008-2012)
Gregg E. Ireland (2001-2006)
Lori A. Ireland (2001-2006)
Hal Kaplan (2007-2020)
Eleanor G. Kinnaird (2008-2014)
Thomas W. Lambeth (2001-2007)
David Lawrence Jr. (2008-2019)
Howard N. Lee (2001-2020)
Michael L. Lopez (2014-2019)
Evelyn K. Moore (2001-2020)
Karen Ponder (2008-2020)
Adele Richardson Ray (2001-2006)
Timothy P. Shriver (2001-2006)
Donald J. Stedman (2007-2017)
Charles S. Stone Jr. (2001-2005)
John A. Tate Jr. (2001-2004)
Marjorie W. Tate (2001-2004)
Vanessa A. Wittman (2001-2007)